New Chairman Elected to Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana Board of Directors

Feb. 21, 2017

J. Kevin McCotter of Shreveport was elected Chairman of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana Board of Directors at its Feb. 21 annual meeting.

McCotter, who has served on the board since 2008, is the former Vice President of Corporate Development and Government Relations for Chesapeake Energy Corporation. Prior to joining Chesapeake, McCotter served in numerous positions of increasing leadership responsibility with South Central Bell, BellSouth and AT&T before retiring with 34 years of service in 2006.

At Blue Cross’ annual policyholders’ meeting on Feb. 21, policyholders re-elected McCotter to the Board along with Dr. Richard Atkins of Baton Rouge, Michael B. Bruno of New Orleans, Daniel S. Borné of Baton Rouge, Jerome “Jerry” K. Greig of Lafayette, Ann H. Knapp of Lake Charles, Dr. Carl S. Luikart of Baton Rouge, Charles Brent “Brent” McCoy of Baton Rouge, Judy P. Miller of Alexandria, Thad Minaldi of Madisonville, Virgil Robinson, Jr. of New Orleans and Blue Cross President and CEO Dr. I. Steven Udvarhelyi of Baton Rouge.

Following the policyholders’ meeting, the Board elected McCotter as Chairman, Bruno as Vice Chairman and Miller as Secretary.

About Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana is Louisiana’s oldest domestic health insurance company. Founded in 1934 in New Orleans, the company serves one out of four Louisianians and is totally Louisiana-owned and -operated. It is an independent licensee of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association.

Blue Cross employs more than 2,500 Louisianians at its corporate headquarters in Baton Rouge and its district offices in Alexandria, Houma, Lafayette, Lake Charles, Monroe, New Orleans and Shreveport. It is a private, fully taxed nonprofit company, mutually owned by its policyholders—not stockholders.